Matt’s piece in the Politico Magazine.

Politico just ran Matt’s awesome article about the Republican Party, gay equality, his story as a gay Republican, and The Purple Elephant project.  Worth a read!!!

When the House of Representatives voted to repeal the military’s “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy several years ago, I watched with rising horror as a map on my screen showed nearly every Republican member voting against allowing gays and lesbians to serve openly in the U.S. armed forces.

This was my party. I’ve voted Republican my whole life, volunteered for Republican candidates, joined Republican groups. Yet of 173 voting Republicans, only five—about 3 percent—supported overturning a policy that discriminates against people like me.

I knew, of course, that my party was behind the time on gay rights, but I didn’t realize it was that bad. The question that ran through my mind that day was one I’ve often had to answer since: How could I be a Republican?   Read more: http://www.politico.com/magazine/story/2013/11/the-rise-of-the-purple-elephants-100061.html#ixzz2l9rzMBJa

One thought on “Matt’s piece in the Politico Magazine.

  1. Mario Nicolais

    Matt –

    Great article and great analysis. As a straight pro-equality candidate for the Colorao State Senate, I face many of the most vocal equality opponents. They often cite “principle” for their positions, which always makes me smile because I know that the principles of liberty and equality were good enough for our founding fathers, good enough of Pres. Lincoln, good enough for Republicans fighting for Civil Rights in the 1940’s, ’50’s and ’60’s, and they are good enough for me to stick to today.

    I’d love to talk to you sometime soon about how GOP equality candidates approach the coming elections. Feel free to get in touch with me via email at Mario@MarioForSenate.com

    Mario Nicolais

    Reply

Leave a Reply

